November 4, 2020

Andujar: Real Madrid’s initial goal shouldn’t have counted, Mendy fouls Achraf.

Andujar Real Madrid's initial goal shouldn't have counted, Mendy fouls Achraf.

Real Madrid opened the scoring in their crucial Champions League game against Inter on Tuesday evening when Karim Benzema capitalised on a bad back pass from Achraf Hakimi.

But, the Moroccan was fouled by Ferland Mendy as he tried that pass, according to MARCA’s refereeing specialist Juan Andujar Oliver.

In the view of the former umpire, the goal must not have actually been enabled to count.


” There’s a foul in the build-up from Mendy on Achraf, before the Inter player attempts to play the ball back,”

Andujar Oliver claimed on Radio MARCA. “The Frenchman presses the former Real Madrid guy off the pitch.”