November 11, 2020

Fati, Sancho & Haaland lead 20-man list for Golden Boy award

Fati, Sancho & Haaland lead 20-man list for Golden Boy award

Getty Images/AFP

Erling Haaland, Jadon Sancho and Ansu Fati heading the last 20-name shortlist for the 2020 Golden Boy award.

The reward, provided by Italian newspaper Tuttosport and won by Joao Felix last year, is provided to the best player aged 21 or beneath from a top-tier league in Europe.

Haaland is a leading contender for the honor after scoring 44 goals throughout all competitors in 2019-20– 16 of those coming in 18 appearances after a mid-season relocation from Salzburg to Borussia Dortmund.

Amongst all Bundesliga players last season to have scored at least 10 goals, just Robert Lewandowski (81.2) had a much better minutes-per-goal record than Haaland (81.7 ).

His Dortmund team-mate Sancho completed the 2019-20 league project with 17 goals and 16 assists, making him the very first player because Opta began comprehensive data collection (2004-05) to sign up a minimum of 15 in both categories in the same Bundesliga project.

The England international’s respected campaign saw him end up being the youngest player (twenty years, two months and 6 days old) in the history of Germany’s leading flight to reach 30 profession goals.

Regardless of their excellent numbers, Haaland and Sancho deal with stiff competitors from Fati, who became the third-youngest player (16 years, 304 days old) to discover the web in LaLiga history and the youngest of perpetuity in the Champions League (17 years, 40 days).

He completed the season with 8 goals in all competitors and has actually continued his increase this term, netting 3 times in as numerous LaLiga games and becoming the youngest player to score for Spain.

Alphonso Davies will likewise be in contention after developing himself as one of the leading left-backs in the game during Bayern Munich’s treble-winning season.

The full 20-man shortlist:

  • Mitchel Bakker (Paris Saint-Germain)
  • Eduardo Camavinga (Rennes)
  • Jonathan David (Lille)
  • Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich)
  • Sergino Dest (Barcelona)
  • Fabio Silva (Wolves)
  • Ansu Fati (Barcelona)
  • Phil Foden (Manchester City)
  • Ryan Gravenberch (Ajax)
  • Mason Greenwood (Manchester United)
  • Erling Haaland (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Callum Hudson-Odoi (Chelsea)
  • Dejan Kulusevski (Juventus)
  • Rodrygo (Real Madrid)
  • Bukayo Saka (Arsenal)
  • Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund)
  • Dominik Szoboszlai (Salzburg)
  • Sandro Tonali (Milan)
  • Ferran Torres (Manchester City)
  • Vinicius Junior (Real Madrid).